India at 17th FINA World Aquatics Championships 2017

India World Aquatics Championship Budapest

The 17th edition of 2017 World Aquatics Championship were held in Budapest, Hungary from 14 to 30 July 2017.

Six Indian swimmers participated in the prestigious competition in 10 events & concluded the event with no medals.

Indian Result at 17th FINA World Aquatics Championships 2017, Budapest :

Swimmer Event Date Heat Semi Final Final Rank
Omkumar Tokalkandiga Men’s 10 km 18 July 2017 2:13:52.1 64
Nikitha Setru Women 10 Km 16 July 2017 2:28:14.6 58
Sajan Prakash Men’s 100 m butterfly 28 July 2017 56.45 DNA DNA 48
Sajan Prakash Men’s 200 m butterfly 25 July 2017 2:00.57 DNA DNA 30
Madhu Prathapan Men’s 50 m backstroke 29 July 2017 58:39 DNA DNA 39
Madhu Prathapan Men’s 100 m backstroke 24 July 2017 58.49 DNA DNA 39
Sayani Ghosh Women’s 200 m individual medley 23 July 2017 2:32.55 DNA DNA 35
Sayani Ghosh Women’s 400 m individual medley 30 July 2017 Did Not Start DNA DNA
Damini Gowda Women’s 100 m butterfly 23 July 2017 1:06.19 DNA DNA 40
Damini Gowda Women’s 200 m butterfly 26 July 2017 2:28.95 DNA DNA 33

India entered two swimmers in open water swimming category while other four swimmers (Two men & Two women)  got a Universality invitation from the World Body FINA to participate in the Championships.

Sajan Prakash FINA World Championships Budapest

  • Men’s 10 km Open Water Swimming

Omkumar Tokalkandiga participating in men’s 10 km open water swimming category finished the race on 64th rank with the final timings of 2:13:52.1. Ferry Weetman from Netherlands took the Gold by finishing the race within 1:51:58.5, while the Silver & Bronze went to Jordan Wilimovsky of United States of America & Mark-Antoine Oliver of France respectively.

  • Women’s 10 Km Open water swimming

Nikitha Setru, the lone Indian women in open water swimming concluded the race on 58th place with the final timings of 2:28:14.6. Aurelie Muller of France clinched the Gold medal with the superb timings of 2:00:13.7 while Samantha Arevalo of Ecuador won the Silver & it was a tie for the 3rd position as Arianna Bridi of Brazil & Ana Marcela of Brazil finished the race with the same timings to win the Bronze.

  • Men’s 100m Butterfly

Sajan Prakash finished the race in 56.45s in the heat & couldn’t advance further for the semi-finals round. He gradually finished as the 48th ranked swimmer. Caeleb Dressel from America clinched the Gold with the new National Record of 49.86s, while kristof Milak of Hungary took the Silver with new National record while bronze medal went to Joseph Schooling of Singapore & James Guy of Great Britain.

  • Men’s 200m Butterfly

Lone Indian in the category, Sajan Prakash concluded the race within 2:00.57s but failed to advance to the next rounds. Overall he finished as 30th ranked swimmer in the men’s 200m butterfly category.

  • Men’s 50m Backstroke

Madhu Prathapan, the alone Indian fighting in the category finished with the mediocre timings of 27.17s & as expected failed to advance for the semi-finals stage. Camille Lacourt of France won the Gold medal with an incredible timings of 24.35s. Junya koga (Japan) & Matt Grevers (USA) won the Silver & Bronze respectively.

  • Men’s 100m Backstroke

After a disappointing finish in men’s 50km backstroke, Madhu Prathapan failed to impress in this category too as he finished on lowly 39th position (58.49s).

  • Women’s 200m individual medley

Sayani Ghosh also failed to impress as she finished the 200m individual medley race within 2:32.55 which was only good to give her a 35th rank in the competition.

Katinka Hosszu clinched the Gold for Hungary by completing the race in 2:07.00, while Yui Ohashi broke the National Record of Japan to grab the Silver medal. Madisyn Cox of USA took home the Bronze.

  • Women’s 400m individual medley

Sayani Ghosh didn’t appear for his 400m medley race.

  • Women’s 100m Butterfly

Damini Gowda completed her 100m race within 1:06:19s to finish as 40th ranked swimmer.

  • Women’s 200m Butterfly

Damini Gowda failed to make an impact in 200m race too as she finished on 33rd place with the heat timings of 2:28.95 & failed to advance for the next round.