2018 China Open Super 1000

The 2018 China Open, officially VICTOR China Open 2018, is a badminton tournament which takes place at Olympic Sports Center Xincheng Gymnasium in Changzhou, Jiangsu, China from 18 to 23 September 2018. It has a total prize of $1,000,000.

It is the seventeenth tournament of the 2018 BWF World Tour and also part of the China Open championships, which have been held since 1986. This tournament is organized by Chinese Badminton Association and sanctioned by the BWF.


11 Indian Including Top Indian Shuttler Olympics Medalist P.V Sindhu and Saina Nehwal. In Last Addition of China Open, no Indian Could reach Semifinal. here is full Indian Result –

Athlete Event Round of 32 Round of 16 Quarter Final SemiFinal
Srikanth Kidambi Men’s singles Rasmus Gemke (DEN)
Win – (21-9 21-19)
Suppanyu Avihingsanon(THA)
H. S. Prannoy Men’s singles Ng Ka Long (HKG)
Lost – (16-21 12-21)
P. V. Sindhu Women’s singles S Kawakami (JPN)
Win – (21-15 21-13)
B Ongbamrungphan (MAL)
Saina Nehwal Women’s singles Sung Ji (KOR)
Lost – (1-2)
Satwiksairaj RANKIREDDY / Chirag SHETTY Men’s doubles Tan Wee / Goh V (MAL)
Lost – (19-21 20-22)
Sumeeth REDDY / Manu Atri Men’s doubles Su C-h / Liao M-c (TPE)
Win – (13-21 21-13 21-12)
Wang C-l / Chen H-l (TPE)
Ashwini PONNAPPA / Sikki reddy Women’s doubles Kong H-y / Kim S-y (KOR)
Lost – (10-21 18-21)
Satwiksairaj RANKIREDDY /Ashwini PONNAPPA Mixed doubles Marcus ELLIS / Lauren SMITH (ENG)
Win – (2-1)
Lauren SMITH / Zheng SW (1) (CHN)
Sikki reddy / Pranaav Jerry CHOPRA Mixed doubles Linda Efler /Marvin Emil (GER)
Win – (21-17 21-19)
C Pedersen / M Christiansen (DEN)

Key Moment

  • Saina Nehwal goes down to world no 9 Sung Ji Hyun (KOR) In Opening round by 22-20 8-21 14-21
  • Satwiksairaj RANKIREDDY /Ashwini PONNAPPA Upset World No 12 pair Marcus Ellis/Lauren Smith (Eng) by 21-13, 20-22, 21-17 to opening round
  • Satwiksairaj & Chirag Indonesia Masters

  • Sumeeth REDDY / Manu Atri def much higher rank Liao Min Chun/ Su Ching Heng (TPE) by 13-21 21-13 21-12 to opening round
  • Satwiksairaj RANKIREDDY /Ashwini PONNAPPA

    Satwiksairaj RANKIREDDY /Ashwini PONNAPPA