2018 Sultan Azlan Shah Cup

The 2018 Sultan Azlan Shah Cup will be the 27th edition of the Sultan Azlan Shah Cup. It will be held in Ipoh, Perak, Malaysia from 3 to 10 March 2018.

The number of teams for this year’s cup are as same as last year’s tournament where six teams competed. Japan and New Zealand, who competed previously, will not join this edition and being replaced by Argentina and Ireland. Great Britain’s countries that will participate in this edition is England only.

In the Previous edition, Great Britain won Gold medal After They defeat Australia in final by 4-3. India Finish 3rd as they beat NewZeland by 4-0 in Bronze medal Match. 2018 edition matches will be telecasted on Star sports 2 and Hot Star

Fixture and Result

Match Date / Time Stage Score Winner Scorer
India Vs Argentina 03 March – 1:30 Pm Group Stage 2-3 Argentina Amit Rohidas *2
India Vs England 04 March – 1:30 Pm Group Stage 1-1 Draw Shilanand Lakra
India Vs Australia 06 March – 3:30 Pm Group Stage 2-4 Australia Ramandeep Singh*2
India Vs Malaysia 07 March – 6:05 Pm Group Stage 5-1 India RAMANDEEP singh
Sumit Kumar
Shilanand Lakra
Gurjant Singh *2
India Vs Ireland 08 March – 3:30 Pm Group Stage 2-3 Ireland Ramandeep Singh
Amit Rohidas
India Vs Ireland 10 March – 1:30 Pm 5th – 6th Place 4-1 India Varun Kumar *2
Shilanand Lakra
Gurjant Singh

Point Table

Team Match Played Won Lost Draw Point Diff (+/-) Points
Australia 5 5 0 0 12 12
England 5 2 1 2 5 8
Argentina 5 2 2 1 0 7
Malysia 5 2 3 0 -7 6
India 5 1 3 1 0 4
Ireland 5 1 4 0 -10 3

Tournament Summery

  • In the Opening Match India lost to Olympics Champion Argentina by 2-3 in a close match, Amit Rohidas score both goals for India but was not enough to put India Ahead.
  • In second game India Play England, the Young player from India Play some Brilliant hockey but again could not win as match end up with a 1-1 draw. 18-year-old Shilanand Lakra score the only goal for India.
  • In the 3rd match against World Champion Australia, India lost by 2-4. Ramandeep Singh scores both goals for India. This was the 2nd loss for India while Australia confirms their Spot in Final.
  • In fourth Match India beat Malaysia a one side encounter by 5-1 and register their first win of Sultan Azlan Shah Cup. Gurjant Singh scores two goals for India while RAMANDEEP Singh, Sumit Kumar and Shilanand Lakra also found the net. India Still has chance to make it to final they need a Big win against Ireland, need other match results in their favour.
  • India lost to Ireland in last Pool match after a good fight match by 2-3 and will again play Ireland for 5th-6th place classification match. Amit Rohidas and Ramandeep Singh were on the scoresheet for India, but Ireland played some brilliant game
  • HWL Semi-final

  • In 5th-6th classification India did not give repeat their last match mistake and beat Ireland comfortably 4-1. Varun Kumar scores 2 goals for India, Shilanand Lakra and Gurjant also score for India. Ramandeep Singh finish top scorer for India with 4 goals while Shilanand Lakra and Gurjant finish with 3 goals each.