Asian Team Badminton Championships 2018

Srikanth Kidambi Asian Badminton Championship 2017

It was a bad day in the office for both men and women shuttler from India as the star-studded team crashed out of Asian Championship in both Men and Women category. Srikanth Kidambi and co. Lost to China while Indonesians were too hot to handle for Indian women as they crushed them by 1-3 score in quarterfinals.

India at Asian Team Badminton Championships 2018

  • Women Team

  Group W
India vs HONG KONG
Group W
India vs Japan
Quarter FInal
Match 1
( Single 1 )
P. V Sindhu Beat YIP Yin
Score – (21-12 21-18)

P. V Sindhu Def. Akane Yamaguchi
Score – (21-19 21-15)

P. V Sindhu Def. Fitriani FITRIANI
Score – (21-13 24-22)

Match 2
( Double 1 )
Ashwini PONNAPPA / Prajakta SAWANT lost to Ng Yung / Nga Ting
Score – (1-2)

Sanyogita Ghorpade / Prajakta Sawant lost to Shiho Tanaka / Y.Koharu
Score – (17-21 17-21)

Sanyogita Ghorpade / P. V Sindhu lost to Anggia Shitta / Ni Ketut
Score – (9-21 18-21)

Match 3
( Single 2 )
Sri Krishna Priya Lost to Ying Mei
Score – (1-2)
Sri Krishna Priya Lost to Sayaka SATO
Score – (12-21 12-21)
Sri Krishna Priya Lost to Hanna RAMADINI
Score – (8-21 15-21)
Match 4
( Double 2 )
Sikki Reddy / PV Sindhu Beat NG Yau /Sin Ying
Score – (2-1)
Sikki Reddy / Ashvini Ponnapa Lost to
Misaki Matsutomo / Ayaka Takahashi
Score – (18-21 18-21)
Sikki Reddy / Ashvini Ponnapa Lost to
Greysia POLII /
Apriyani RAHAYU
Score – (5-21 16-21)
Match 5
( Single 3 )
Ruthvika Shivani Beat Sum Yee
Score – (2-1)
Ashwini Ponnapa Lost to Aya OHORI
Score – (14-21 12-21)
Score 3-2 1-4 1-3
Winner India Japan INDONESIA
(After match 1)
India +1
Hong Kong -1
India -3
Japan +3

Indian women were placed in group W alongside Hong Kong and Japan.In group stages they won against Hong Kong and lost to Japan but went to the quarters as Hong Kong failed to win any group stage rubber.

Group W :-

Vs Hong Kong
Olympic silver medalist P.V.Sindhu defeated Yip Yin in the first game to give India 1-0 lead but Indian women duo of Aswini Ponappa and Prajakta Sawant lost to Ng Yung and Nga Ting and Krishna Priya lost her singles to Ying Mei giving Hong Kong a 2-1 lead.Indian duo of Sikki Reddy and PV Sindhu made it 2-2 by defeating Ng Yau and Sin Ying.Score tied at 2-2 In a must win last game Ruthvika Shivani beat Sunm Yee to seal the tie 3-2 in favour of India.

Vs Japan
In another group encounter Indians were pathetic apart from PV Sindhu as they lost the tie by 1-4 game. Sindhu was the only one who defeated Akane Yamaguchi.

Quarterfinal :-
After a scrathcy way through to quarterfinal Indian women apart from Sindhu again displayed a very poor show against mighty Indonesians as they were humbled by them by a 1-3 scoreline. Only PV Sindhu won her match against Fitriani  by straight sets.

  • Men Team

Match Group D
India vs Philippines
Group D
Group D
India vs Indonesia
India Vs China
Match 1
( Single 1 )
Srikanth Kidambi beat Ros Leonard
Score – (21-11 21-12)
Srikanth Kidambi Def Hussein Zayan
Score – (21-5 21-6)
Srikanth Kidambi Lost to Jonatan Christie
-Score – (21-5 21–6)
Srikanth Kidambi Def SHI Yuqi
Score – (14-21 16-21 7-21)
Match 2
( Double 1 )
Manu Attri / Sumeeth Reddy Bt. Philip Joper / A.Carlos
Score – (21-15 21-13)

Satwiksairaj Ranikireddy / Chirag Shetty Def. Hassan Afsheem /Hussein Zayan
Score – (21-8 21-8)

Satwiksairaj Ranikireddy / Chirag Shetty Def. Mohammad Ahsan /Kevin Sanjaya-
Score – (18-21 21-18 22-24)
Satwiksairaj Ranikireddy / Chirag Shetty Lost to HE Jiting / TAN Qiang
Score – (17-21 18-21)
Match 3
( Single 2 )
Sai Praneeth Def. Arthur Samuel
Score – (21-6 21-10)
Sai Praneeth Def. Ahmed NIBAL
Score – (21-4 21-10)
Sai Praneeth Def. Anthony Ginting
Score – (21-19 21-17)
Sai Praneeth Lost to QIAO Bin
Score – (21-9 11-21 17-21)
Match 4
( Double 2 )
Arjun M.R /
Ramchandran Shlok Def. Alvin Morada / Peter Gabriel
Score – (21-18 21-17)
Arjun M.R /
Ramchandran Shlok Def. Mohamad Ali/ Ahmed NIBALl
Score – (21-2 21-5)
Arjun M.R /
Ramchandran Shlok Lost to Angga Pratama / Rian Agung
Score – (21-14 16-21 12-21)
Manu Attri / Sumeeth Reddy Lost to HAN Chengkai / ZHOU Haodong
Score – (14-21 19-21 14-21)
Match 5
( Single 3 )
Sameer Verma Def Lanz Ralf
Score – (21-15 21-12)
Sameer Verma Def Mohamad Ali
Score – (21-5 21-1)
Sumeeth Reddy lost to Ihsan Maulana
Score – (12-21 7-21)
Score 5-0 5-0 2-3 1-3
Winner India India Indonesia China
Point India +5
Philippines -5
India +5
Maldives -5
India -1
Indonesia +1

On the other hand Indian men displayed a dominant show in group stages where they were grouped with Philippines,Maldives,Indonesia. But like their women counterpart they were taken to cleaners by the Chinese in Quarterfinal.

Vs Philippines
Srikanth Kidambi,Sai praneeth and Sameer Verma won their singles game and doubles pair of Manu Attri,Sumeeth Reddy and Arjun MR , Ramachandra Shlok won their doubles tie as India drubbed Philippines 5-0 in that tie.

Vs Maldives
The story repeated here against Maldives as India won 5-0. Only difference from Philippines tie was here India made a change to their doubles team but the “changed” duo of Satwiksairaj Ranikireddy,Chirag Shetty didnt disappoint as India sealed an emphatic 5-0 win to secure a place in quarterfinal.

Vs Indonesia
In their final group game although Sai Praneeth and doubles duo of Satwiksairaj RanikiReddy, Chirag Shetty won their respective games but others lost their matches to give Indonesians a victory by 3-2 margin.

QuarterFinal :-
Against China apart from Kidambi Srikanth others failed to raise their game as they lost by 1-3 scoreline.Srikanth won his first match against Shi Yuqi giving India a 1-0 lead which others failed to protect.

Conclusion :-

Although Indian womens’ team was without Olympic bronze medalist Saina Nehwal but they still had a very good team .This loss for both the men and women will make them more focused and determind on some of the big upcoming tournaments like Commonwealth, Asian Games, All England Badminton Championship.