Jun 28, 2 years ago

Asian Athletics Championships : India to field 95-member Jumbo Squad

Asian Athletics Championships : India to field 95-member Jumbo Squad

Indian today named a strong 95-member squad to compete at Asian Athletics Championships in Bhubaneswar with javelin thrower Neeraj Chopra set the lead the challenge for the home country.

With am aim to eye maximum medals, India will field its best available athletes from 6-9th July at Kalinga Stadium, The squad includes 46 women.

The event also has added importance as all the gold winners will automatically qualify for the World Athletics Championships to be held in London in August.

Javelin thrower Davinder Singh Kang, who was in news for the wrong reasons as he was tested positive for recreational drug marijuana, has also been named in the team. He was not handed a provisional suspension as marijuana was a specified substance under the WADA Code.

“We have checked his case. Since Davinder has not been put under suspension, we have named him in the team. If the NADA (Disciplinary Panel) passes any order or suspends him before or during the championships, we will take him out of the team.

“But as of now, there is no bar on him being selected in the team,” Athletics Federation of India Secretary CK Valson told PTI.

Seven athletes will have to pass their fitness trials in Bhubaneswar ahead of Championships to get the spot.

Two women athletes — hurdler and long jumper Nayana James and triple jumper Joyline Murali Lobo — as well as discus thrower Vikas Gowda, long-jumper Siddharth Mohan Naik and triple jumper U Karthik will undergo trials on June 30 while high hurdler Siddhanth Thingalaya would face a trial on July 2.

Athletics Federation of India President Adille Sumariwalla expressed hope that the athletes would do better than the last edition in China where Indian grabbed 13 medals including 4 Golds, 5 Silvers & 4 Bronze.

He further said, “Our athletes have had a string of solid performances in the run-up to the competition and we believe they are primed to deliver their best here. We are sure they would win more than the 13 medals claimed in the last edition at Wuhan in China. Our team has a number of proven performers and some exciting new talent,”

The Team:

Men: 100m and 200m: Amiya Kumar Mallick

400m: Muhammed Anas, Amoj Jacob and Arokia Rajiv

800m: Jinson Johnson and Vishambhar Keolkar

1500m: Ajay Kumar Saroj and Siddhantha Adhikari

5000m: G Lakshmanan and Murli Kumar Gavit

10,000m: Lakshmanan, Gopi Thonakal and Kalidas Hirave

3000m steeplechase: Naveen Kumar and Durga Bahadur Budha

110m hurdles: Siddhant Thingalaya* and Prem Kumar

400m hurdles: Jabir MP, Santhosh Kumar T and Durgesh Kumar Pal

Pole vault: S Siva

High jump: Chethan B and Ajay Kumar

Long jump: Ankit Sharma, Samsheer SE and Siddharth Mohan Naik*

Triple jump: Arpinder Singh and Karthik U*;

Shot put: Tajinder Pal Toor, Jasdeep Singh Dhillon and Omprakash Singh Karhana;

Discus throw: Vikas Gowda*, Dharamraj Yadav and Kirpal Singh;

Hammer throw: Niraj Kumar;

Javelin throw: Neeraj Chopa, Davinder Singh Kang and Abhishek Singh;

Decathlon: Jagtar Singh and Abhishek Shetty;

4x100m relay: Amiya Kumar Mallick, Jyotishankar Debnath, Anuroop John, VK Elakkiya Dasan, Pravin Muthukumaran and Chintha Sudhakar;

4x400m relay: Muhammed Anas, Amoj Jaco, Arokia Rajiv, Sachi Roby, Mohan Kumar and Kunju Muhammed.

Women: 100m and 200m: Dutee Chand and Srabani Nanda; 400m: Nirmala, MR Poovamma and Jisna Mathew;

800m: Tintu Luka, Archana Adhav and Lili Das;

1500m: Monika Choudhary;

5000m: L Suriya and Sanjivani Jadhav;

10,000m: L Suriya, Sanjivani Jadhav and Meenu; 3000m steeplechase: Sudha Singh and Parul Chaudhary;

100m hurdles: Nayana James*;

400m hurdles: Anu R, Jauna Murmu and Arpitha M.

Pole vault: KM Sangeeta; High jump: Sahana Kumari and Swapna Barman;

Long jump: Nayana James*, Neena V and G Karthika;

Triple jump: Sheena NV and Joyline Murali Lobo*.

Shot put: Manpreet Kaur, Ramanpreet Kaur and Anamika Das;

Discus throw: Kamalpreeet Kaur Bal, Seema Punia and Himani Singh;

Hammer throw: Sarita R Singh and Gunjan Singh;

Javelin throw: Annu Rani, Poonam Rani Singh and Suman Devi.

Heptathlon: Swapna Barman, Purnima Hembram and Liksy Joseph.

4x100m relay: Dutee Chand, Srabani Nanda, Merlin Joseph, Reena George, Ruma Sarkar and Himashree Roy;

4x400m relay: Nirmala, Poovamma, Jisna Mathew, Vijayakumari GK, Sarita Ben Gayakwad and Debashree Mazumdar.


Sportstalk24 makes sure the users gets the best information about Live Cricket Score, Live football score, Sports Schedule and their favourite Sports Blog Posts.

Share "Asian Athletics Championships : India to field 95-member Jumbo Squad" via

Add a comment


  1. July 1, 2017
    Nice articles Reply

Leave a reply

More in Athletics
12:30 pm, 2 months ago

Super Sunday for Sports: Asian Athletics, Boxing & Weightlifting Championships, Tennis & Badminton Finals lined up

It will be a Sunday full of sports for Indian sporting fans as many finals are lined up for the day with 2017 World Champion Mirabai Chanu and World Youth Gold…

7:34 pm, 10 months ago

Asian Games: India won 4 medals including one gold on Day 9 in athletics

It was a stunning Day 9 of athletics, as India won four medals in total including one gold and three silvers to end the day on a high note. …

6:57 pm, 10 months ago

Asian Games: Neeraj Chopra smash another national record to win gold in Javelin throw

India’s Neeraj Chopra has scripted history by becoming the first Indian to win gold medal in Javelin Throw event in Asian Games….